Oh Happy Day!

25 Jun

I did think of this being the blog name. Every time I read the phrase I want to burst into singing! And not just the usual kind of humming with a serious face to fool the cocubiclers type of singing. But the loud gospel choir style accompanied by wild dancing and clapping. Oh, isn’t that the best ever type? Thanks my dear little sister for teaching me this song!

Anyway, today is a happy day! I realize every day should feel like it if you are all for self-improvement and the search-of-fulfillment with the help of the smile-at-everything attitude. I’m one of those, guilty. But today even the weather cooperated! A thunderstorm to chase the cat’s under the bed and hug each other, the rain to drown in, and the most fantastic wind all through the house! Sitting on the balcony, sipping tea and just looking at this weather performance was a pleasure hard to describe! It calmed down after a few hours (a pity) but brought the rare but oh such welcomed guest of coolness. I walked to work and didn’t once wish for an air-conditioned bubble to get me through the streets. Of course, I usually wish for the one powered by my walking and thus without an impact on the environment.  I should just give a hug to the tree-hugger me. Niiiice!

Yet that would be a bit more deserved was I to continue thinking of ways to reduce our carbon footprint. Our fridge, for one, sucks most of the energy in the house and is followed by the dryer. If we can do without a dryer (clothes dried outside do smell so much fresher), then the idea of unplugging the fridge did not score points with Mr AP. We do live in a tropical climate… sigh… But for now I do fill the half empty freezer and the main compartments with bags of ice or bottles of water (recycled and reused, no doubt). But is there anything else I could do? Let’s see… (searching the web, be back in 15).  Nothing on that topic yet but a few more ideas surfaced and will be implemented or reinforced in our household.  Hold on tight, honey!

* Making and using our own cloth bags for shopping (they have to be crafted by me from the up-cycled old sheets)

* Cooking twice as much for dinner and freezing it for later (aim: to use less energy while cooking and fill up the freezer)

* Set a drying rack every time (has to be at night, otherwise the balcony does not look very attractive and does not appeal to the prospective buyers of the flats in our condo. Fine by me!)

* Collect rainwater for grey-water jobs (oh how on earth do I do that on the 17th floor?! Ideas anyone?)

* Stop eating/ cooking meat (I’m almost there and very proud)

* Pledge not to buy anything for a month (not a single thing other than food. Imagine how much of unneeded things we buy and eventually throw away to pile up and rot in the landfills (and mind you, plastic decomposes after 1 million years!) This one starts today. My friend will have to forgive me for sending her gift in an recycled carton full of shredded paper.  I will do my best to beautify it, I promise. I just had a terrific idea! I am going to make a reusable mailing bag out of an old shower curtain. It will be durable and boast a tamper-evident seal system. That is another project for this weekend.

* Live simply… Big statement with so much ambition packed into it! And it would definitely take time to break it down to swallow-able pieces

So many things to accomplish during the next few days in addition to cuddling with hubby, listening to his ideas of shaving the cats, training them to open the doors and create his .ppt presentations, and clean their own toilet too!

Coming back to today in its wonderfulness – it is something to celebrate with a long walk with a dip in the hip and a song on the lips! O HAPPY DAY!!!

2 Responses to “Oh Happy Day!”

  1. Pri June 30, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Ms.M

    I am just amazzed and blown away by your talent, my dear.. You inspire me to go out and do what gives me joy…

    I love your craft- with textiles and wid words..
    Big hug….

  2. Mehr July 1, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Maria- You are the coolest gal! Loved reading the “happy” piece especially and thoroughly enjoyed this Web site!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

